Font Size:

  • Increase
  • Decrease
  • Normal

Current Zoom: 100%

Databases

SOLS acknowledgment banner

Connecting from home?  You may be asked to provide your library card number to access some online resources. If your card begins with "2," please type in the third set of eight digits only (e.g., 00311279), ignoring the final single digit.

Gale Database Powersearch

Gale PowerSearch platform with cross-search capabilities.  Search your topic in one or more databases at the same time.

Alphabetical List of all eResources

Ancestry Library Edition (In-library Use Only)

Ancestry is a genealogy research tool with data from census, military records, court, land, probate, vital and church records, passenger lists, etc. It covers Canada, the US, UK, and some European countries. This database is only available from within the library.

Canadian Points of View Reference Center

Designed to provide students a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.

Career Cruising

Career Cruising is designed for individual, self-directed use. This user-friendly resource helps satisfy five key career guidance needs: self-assessment, career exploration, post-secondary education planning, work search, and portfolio development.  You will need to open an account in order to create a portfolio.

Chilton Library

The most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.

Communications and Mass Media

Provides current and accurate information from more than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and many more.

Computer Database

Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications and the application of technology.

Consumer Health Information - French

Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

Consumer Health Complete

Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals)

Use this database to find articles from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international journals, magazines, selected sections of the Globe and Mail, Canadian biographies, and other reference content from Gale, all with a Canadian focus.

Criminal Justice Collection

Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to 150 journals.

Educators 200

Perfect for educating future teachers and administrators, this set includes over 250 titles covering the latest technologies, developments, instruction and coaching breakthroughs.

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

A collection of over 800 journals and 6 subject specific Delmar reference titles provide robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection

Farmers, landscape architects, and biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.

General Business File ASAP

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

General Reference Center Gold

A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

With current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.

Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Learn Ontario

Learn Ontario provides discovery and access to the quality learning tutorials that will help you make the most of your digital literacy skills.  This is a rich collection of online tutorials to help you learn and use:

  • standard workplace and production software applications,
  • provincially licensed OESS K-12 software,
  • "web 2.0" and social media tool sets,
  • the information resources provided by Resource Ontario.

LegalTrac

Students, law school faculty and legal researchers will all find the legal publications they need in LegalTrac®. Drawing on a wide variety of the most highly regarded legal publications, LegalTrac® provides indexing for more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. Each title included in LegalTrac® is selected on the basis of criteria provided by a special advisory committee of the American Association of Law Libraries. LegalTrac® also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.

Literature Resource Center

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.

Novelist K-8 Plus

A personal reading guide for kids. Search by author, title, series or plot. In addition to the reviews of over 200,000+ fiction titles, you’ll also find lists of award-winning books, discussion guides, and recommended reads.

Novelist - French

NoveList is your personal guide to deciding what to read next. Search by author, title, series or plot. In addition to the reviews of over 200,000+ fiction titles, you’ll also find lists of award-winning books, discussion guides, and recommended reads.

Novelist Plus

NoveList is your personal guide to deciding what to read next. Search by author, title, series or plot. In addition to the reviews of over 200,000+ fiction titles, you’ll also find lists of award-winning books, discussion guides, and recommended reads.

Our Ontario

Search across hundreds of sites – digital collections of libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, community groups, government agencies, and content organizations – in seconds.

Our Ontario Government Documents Collection

Access 29,000 government documents from the collection of the Ontario Legislative Library, with new documents being added quarterly. You can find documents by typing in your search words in the search box, or by browsing lists of titles, a list of the ministry/agency, authors, subjects, or years.

PebbleGo

is an award-winning PreK-3 database for reading and research. It incluces PebbleGo Animals or PebbleGo Earth and Space. The latest database includes concepts like weather, seasons, Earth science, and space - all with the built-in reading and research tools. Leveled text, educational games, and videos support science concepts for young researchers.

Psychology Collection

Designed to support Advanced Placement Program Psychology courses, this collection of over 100 mostly peer-reviewed journals provides a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops over time.

Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada's interactive learning tool offering an enormous warehouse of reliable and timely statistics about Canada and its ever-changing people.

Student Edition K12

Now with over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Teen Health and Wellness

Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers, the inaugural database from Rosen Publishing Online, provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.

Tumblebook Library (K-6)

An online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love.

TumbleBook Cloud

TumbleBookCloud.com is an online collection of ebooks and read-along chapter books, graphic novels, educational videos, and audio books! All books are available with unlimited access, all the time, from any device with an internet connection.

TumbleBook Cloud, Jr.

TumbleBookCloud Junior is an online collection of ebooks and read-along chapter books, graphic novels, educational videos, and audio books! It's designed specifically for kids in grades two to six. 

Audio Book Cloud (Audiobooks)

An online audio book library collection of streaming and downloadable audio books. The downloaded books are available for a period of 90 days and you may download as many books at the same time as you like!

Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7.